#52FilmsByWomen: BELLE

BELLE-hi-res-one-sheet

18/52 BELLE.

How had I not seen this film yet? This week I watched a beautiful and moving period drama directed by Amma Asante. The story is inspired by the real Dido Elizabeth Belle and is about the mixed race daughter of a Royal Navy Admiral who is raised by her aristocratic great-uncle in 18th century England. It’s been on my list since it was released and I wish I had seen it sooner as it’s a great story with a stellar cast.

Asante is a British director, writer and former actor. What I love about her directing style is the warmth and grace she exudes through her work–whether it’s the best yet flawed intentions of her characters, the buttery subtlety of her camera (I don’t know how else to describe the tiniest, elegant glides she uses) or the belief in the ability of humans to be decent to each other when push comes to shove.

I don’t think I’ve seen a story told from this point-of-view before–that of a wealthy, aristocratic woman who belongs nowhere because of the color of her skin. This film is uplifting, absorbing and such a worthwhile world to spend a couple of hours in.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

