#52FilmsByWomen: LOVE & BASKETBALL

Love and BBall

January 25, 2016. 1/52 LOVE AND BASKETBALL. I’ve joined the Women in Film Los Angeles initiative to watch one film directed by a woman every week for a year. This past week it was Gina Prince-Bythewood’s feature sports drama. I’ve seen Gina’s most recent film, BEYOND THE LIGHTS, and loved it, but for some reason LOVE AND BASKETBALL slipped by me. I highly recommend both films. Prince-Bythewood is one of the most mainstream female filmmakers out there. Her work as a writer/director is confident, funny, thoughtful, real and very entertaining. I don’t think anyone could sit down with either one of these films and not enjoy them. I’ve been able to hear Gina talk in person about her process and she’s such a smart filmmaker. Another bonus for me was seeing Christine Dunford in the role of the coach because I got to work with Christine on stage in THE SHADOW BOX. 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

