CREATIVE TONIC

December 9, 2010.

I don’t think this is abnormal but December has plunged me into a extreme state of exhaustion and depression. This week, in order to cope, I canceled every commitment except for work, have been going to bed early and am trying to limit the amount of “chatter” coming into my brain whether it’s from Facebook or complaining friends. I got this idea from Julia’s Cameron’s second Artist’s Way book: Walking in this World. She says that often an artist is blocked not because of too much outflow but because of too much inflow.

I’ve also found that creativity has saved me on countless occasions but with my acting class on a break for the holidays and no auditions and no real time for myself except on the weekends- how am I supposed to be creative? Today, thanks to another blog, I stumbled upon this project called #reverb10. Bloggers receive one key question per day from December 1st-December 31st and the idea is to reflect on the past year and contemplate the coming year.

Obviously the last thing I feel like doing is exploring how amazing and blah blah blah the next year is going to be when, at the moment, I feel like a failure in every area of my life. But I also know that self-pity is a slippery slope and that I’d rather feel better. So I’ll be playing catch-up with the questions and hope to finish them all by the end of the month.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

