I’M NOT THERE

January 22, 2008.

I was deeply saddened to hear of Heath Ledger’s passing this afternoon. He was an incredibly gifted actor- one who, at twenty-eight years old, was just hitting his artistic stride. My favorite performance was his Oscar-nominated portrayal of Ennis in Brokeback Mountain; he created a haunting character that I haven’t been able to forget since I first saw it. He was an actor to get excited about. His talent showed such range and nuance that, I think, he would have eventually been included in the top echelon of actors along with the likes of Al Pacino or Marlon Brando. It’s painful to think of such a promising career cut short so soon.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

